Martha Lavelle

Martha received her BSc in Biomedical Science from the University of Sheffield in 2020, during which she specialized in neurobiology and received the neuroscience prize upon graduation. Following this, she worked as a research assistant in the Wade-Martins group at the University of Oxford, using iPSC and CRISPRi technologies to study mitochondrial dysfunction in Parkinson’s disease, funded by an industry collaboration with BMS Celgene. She joined as a PhD candidate in the Armstrong Group in February 2022, and her project will apply her background in neuroscience and genetics to develop new strategies for brain organoid bioengineering.

PhD Cosupervisors: Dr Oscar Cordero Llana, Prof. James Uney

Email Address:


Ximena received her BSc Hons in Genomic Biotechnology at Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León in Monterrey, México in 2018; during which she conducted research on the development of smart therapeutics to combat antimicrobial resistance. In 2019, she joined the Bristol Centre of Functional Nanomaterials PhD programme on a project co-funded by the Mexican Science and Technology Research Council (CONACYT), the University of Bristol, and Cytoseek Ltd. Her primary supervisor is Prof. Adam Perriman and her project focuses on the generation of 3D bioprinted tumour models for the evaluation of novel immunotherapy approaches. 

PhD Primary Supervisor: Prof. Adam Perriman

Email Address:

Sammy graduated in 2020 from the University of Sussex with a BSc in Computer Science, specialising in artificial intelligence and specifically reinforcement learning. In 2021, he graduated with an MSc in Artificial Intelligence from King’s College London, with a dissertation using Gaussian processes to predict a diagnosis of sepsis in intensive care units. He then joined the University of Bristol in September as a UKRI Digital Health and Care CDT student. He started his project in the Armstrong Group in June 2022, in which he is developing a machine learning pipeline for automated analysis of precision medicine candidates in ovarian cancer.

PhD Cosupervisors: Dr Alessandro Masullo, Dr Neil Ryan, Dr Claire Perks

Email Address: